Attending Southeast Tourism Marketing College

Share our content with your friends!

Kingsland, Georgia – August 2008 Kingsland Convention & Visitors Bureau (CVB) Marketing Director Janelle Kjensmo and St Marys Downtown Development Authority (DDA) STS Marketing CollegeDirector Alyce Thornhill recently completed their second year of the Southeast Tourism Society’s (STS) Marketing College July 27 – August 1, 2008. The STS Marketing College is the premier educational program for the travel & marketing industry in the United States.

STS hosts Marketing College each summer at North Georgia College and State University in Dahlonega, Georgia. The program offers marketing professionals across the Southeast a broad-based curriculum in travel marketing and management. Students completing three years of Marketing College receive their Travel Marketing Professionalism (TMP) certification.
Kjensmo and Thornhill were among the 228 tourism professionals attending from around the Southeastern states. Kjensmo, in her role as Marketing Director for the Kingsland CVB, coordinates the Bureau’s marketing campaigns and promotions. Kjensmo received a $400.00 scholarship from the Georgia Association of Convention & Visitors Bureaus (GACVB) towards marketing college tuition. Thornhill, as St Marys DDA Director, works to increase the exposure of Historic Downtown St Marys. “Understanding more about who the visitor is coming to our downtown will help us to guide our businesses on products and services they will want to have available” said Thornhill.

Kingsland CVB and St Marys DDA work on several joint projects each year to promote area visitation and intergovernmental partnership. STS Marketing College not only provides invaluable education by seasoned professionals in the travel & tourism industry but allows for extensive networking among the southeastern tourism community.
Founded in 1983, the Southeast Tourism Society is dedicated to the promotion and development of industry organizations & professionals and the promotion of tourism to its member states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Share our content with your friends!

Speak Your Mind